I’ve been on a probiotic kick lately, in hopes that it will help ease some of my stomach distress as well as contributing to general health. I’m also hopeful that perhaps it helps when accidental glutening occurred.
While at Shoppers Corner in Santa Cruz the other day, I picked up a carton of Good Belly probiotic juice to check it out. I was saddened to find that these drinks are NOT gluten-free. They contain barley malt and oat flour. Argh.
The company explains it on their website:
Is GoodBelly gluten-free?
While no GoodBelly products contain wheat as an ingredient, we do use a small amount of barley malt that assists the oats in the culturing process. If you have a gluten intolerance or suffer from Celiac’s Disease, we do not recommend you drink our products. We hope that one day we will have an option for you, and would greatly appreciate hearing from you if you are interested in having one.
Do you suffer from Celiac Disease or have a gluten intolerance? Here is some information that may be useful for you: While all GoodBelly is wheat-free, we do use oat flour and a small amount of barley malt that assists the oats in the culturing process. If you have a gluten intolerance or suffer from Celiac Disease, we do not currently have a product that is gluten-free. We hope that one day we will have an option for you, and would greatly appreciate hearing from you if you are interested in having one. Please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Darn. However, at least they explain it thoroughly, although it still disappoints me.
Instead I picked up a carton of Nancy’s probiotic kefir, which is specifically marked gluten-free. While not for vegans or those who can’t do dairy, I can recommend it for others. It’s quite tasty – like drinking yogurt, which for a person like me who feels constantly on the go is definitely a good thing. I’ve also been enjoying Nancy’s low-fat cultured cottage cheese as of late.